“Free Your Mind”

When I was younger, I was what I would like to call a “wild child”. With an older brother and mostly older male cousins, I was super active. The sky was the limit because of the crazy imagination I had.

My heart skipped a beat every time I heard my doorbell ring, knowing it was my neighbor telling me to come play. We would be sorcerers of the elements one day and street racers, riding our bikes down huge hills another.

Then I “grew up”. I stopped experiencing the thrill and the joy of doing things for the thrill and joy of doing them. I stopped playing like a kid and stepped away from exercising my imagination, because I thought it was dumb (stopping, ended up being the dumb thing).

After a certain age you start to do things to meet an end.

We go to work to make money. We eat healthy to lose weight. We go to college to get that job. We do things to fit in.

This somehow turned me into a person who started to fear the things that used to give me joy. I would be apprehensive about going to an event or doing something adventurous. I started focusing solely on all of the things that could go wrong and all of the reasons why I didn’t want to go.

I should have been focusing on the excitement and honing my sense of adventure. I am going to fully blame society on this one. Society made me insecure about the decision I was making, when no F’s should have been given.

Luckily, while in Peru, I was able to visit their vast desert terrain. I had never been to one before; the views blew me away.

My family and I flew down the desert dunes three stories high on a dune buggy. Then glided down them on rickety boards.

For a few hours, I remembered what it was like to be a kid again. I had no worries, nor a care in the world. I relished the great adrenaline high rushing through my body.

When you let yourself go and free your mind, you feel like the possibilities are endless. There is finally a small bit of inner peace. The feeling that everything is going to be okay builds in your mind. You also get this weird sense that, you can conquer anything.

The more and more new things I experience and the more adventures I go on, the more I start to feel these thing.

There is nothing more valuable than feeling at peace.

Go out there and free your mind. Experience new things and try some adventures. Your inner child will thank you.

Published by

Angela~

Asianontheoutside.wordpress.com

5 thoughts on ““Free Your Mind””

Leave a comment